Oh! For the Love of Mango!

 

 Mango and Red Pepper Chutney

Makes 1 cup chutney

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Even for a foodie like me who loves all kinds of food, there are some foods that reach my soul and mangoes are certainly one of them! I know my grandmother and my mother loved them and my daughter does too…so may be this love of mangoes is genetic 🙂  Oh! For the love of mango, I am posting 2 mango recipes today! One is the Mango and Red Pepper Chutney and the other is the ever popular Mango Lassi!

I eat mangoes in every shape and form and this mango red pepper chutney is one more way to add the mango flavor to my meal. This recipe for mango and red pepper chutney is very versatile and lends itself in many ways. It is a quick and easy, a  no fat recipe, where the flavors of the mango and red pepper seem to be made for each other! And did I mention super  delicious?  I used it with mayo to make chicken salad, and as a spread in yummy sandwiches with hummus, cheese and avocado! Now I find out that my husband is loving it as much as I do and is eating the mango chutney with cheese and crackers too! So I will make a bigger batch next time. But for now, I am hiding it in the refrigerator to save some of it for the Indian style chicken burgers I plan to post on Friday 😉

Ingredients for the chutney-

  • 1 medium to big ,ripe and sweet mango, peeled and cut (see pics below)
  • 1/2 medium sized red pepper, cored, seeded and cut into chunks
  • 1/2 small onion, peeled and quartered
  • 1/2 inch ginger,peeled
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 small green Thai bird type chili( optional) I like the layer of flavor it lends to the chutney but if you don’t like the chutney to be hot, you may skip it.
  • 2 teaspoons craisins
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • salt to taste

To make the chutney-

  1. Peel and cut the mango into bite size chunks. I took pictures to show you how I did it. I cut as much flesh around the seed as I could. The hardest part is not eating the pieces as I cut the ripe mango:) Put the cut pieces in a stainless steel or other non-reactive pan.

    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
    peeling the mango
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The 4 pieces and the piece with the big seed
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
In the cooking pan-no oil necessary!

2. Finely mince the red pepper, onion, ginger, garlic, green chili(if using) and the craisins. I used a mini food processor which makes it super easy and super quick.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just a few ‘ pulses’ in the mini food processor
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And this is what I had!

 

3. Add the mixture to the mangoes in the pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I have added the green chili as I like the chutney sweet and sour with a touch of hot!

4. Add the 2 tablespoons of water and cook on medium heat for 4 to 5 minutes or until the onion, red pepper and garlic are cooked, stirring intermittently.

5. Add the apple cider vinegar, the sugar and the salt and let cook another minute or two on low heat, stirring to make sure the chutney does not burn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Consistency of my cooked chutney

5. Turn off the heat and let the chutney cool. The consistency of the chutney will thicken a little as it cools.

6. Store in a glass bottle in the refrigerator for up to a week. Mine is not going to last as long because we found it too addictive:) Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑