Creamy Avocado Kefir Lassi

Serves 2

A Glassful of goodness! Creamy Avocado Kefir Lassi
A Glassful of goodness!
Creamy Avocado Kefir Lassi

Cheers to goodness in a glass! The past few hot summery days make me think of cooling foods like cucumbers and lassi. In India, lassis are classified into ‘khari lassi’ which is the yogurt drink with salt and spice and the ‘meethi lassi’ which is the sweet lassi with just sugar or with fruit and sugar.

This cucumber avocado lassi is a khari lassi. As you know, I love avocados in every shape and form so decided to try them in a lassi too. The avocados give the lassi such a creamy texture! The cucumber gives it an airy lightness and a subtle cool taste. Thanks to a dear friend, I now make kefir at home. So combined the skim milk kefir with the avocado, cucumber and the ‘good for you spices’ like cumin and coriander seeds and chaat masala and you have goodness in a glass!

Ingredients-

  • 1 cup kefir. I used skim milk to make my kefir
  • ½ cup peeled and cut cucumber pieces. I used an English cucumber
  • ½ avocado, peeled and seeded. I used a Hass avocado
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 teaspoon roasted cumin seed powder
  • ½ teaspoon roasted coriander seed powder
  • ½ teaspoon chat masala
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • ½ cup water

To make the Creamy Avocado Kefir Lassi-

  1. Simply blend all the ingredients together in a blender.
  2. Serve over ice.

Enjoy goodness in a glass! I am joining the part at Angie’s Fiesta Friday hosted by Dini and Mollie this week! Do join and check out all the amazing creations there!

Love,

Sandhya

28 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado Kefir Lassi

Add yours

    1. Thanks Loretta! Yes it is perfect for this weather. thanks for your compliment on the photo- I was not sure if it looked good.

      Like

    1. Thanks Parul. Making kefir is very easy once you get the kefir grain. All it takes is adding milk to the grain. No need to boil and cool milk like we do for yogurt.

      Like

  1. YUM!!! I love this idea 😀 I love avacados in every shape and form too and have a avacado drink I love, but it’s not like this at all! Can’t wait to try this… it sounds so refreshing! 🙂
    Happy FF!!

    Like

      1. My MIL made it for me! 😀 I actually don’t know how to make it because it was always made for me!! hahaha!!! But I probably should find out how it’s made… till then I’m going to try this instead! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑